Several Bulls Win South Division Awards

AMARILLO, TX — It was a banner day for the Amarillo Bulls as the North American Hockey League announced its Divisional Awards.

The Bulls won a total of seven awards, including Head Coach Rocky Russo being chosen as South Division Coach Of The Year; Rick Matchett as South Division General Manager of the Year and Louis Helsen as the recipient of the Leadership Award. 

Forward Logan Jenuwine was chosen as the South Division Most Valuable Player and Forward of the Year, and named to All-South Division team. Defenseman Brenden Datema was selected as Defenseman Of The Year, and also a member of the All-South Division Team. Forward Gabriel Seger was named to the All-South Division Team. 

“We are very happy and excited to see our guys get recognition from the other coaches in the division,”  said Bulls Head Coach Rocky Russo. “Logan, Gabriel and Brenden had excellent individual seasons and earned the accolades they received. I am, however, a firm believer that individual awards stem from a tremendous team effort. Each guy helped to contribute to the success of those guys and should be commended for a great regular season.”

Russo said Helsen has been an outstanding leader for the team all season.

”He was an unanimous captain selection for our team and immediately earned the respect of his teammates,” Russo said. “He also represented our team in the community in a way that would make all of our current and former Bulls proud.”

Russo was humbled at being selected as South Division Coach Of The Year.

”It is an honor and a privilege to be Head Coach of the Amarillo Bulls and I am to say that we represented the organization and community to the best of our ability,” said Russo. “More importantly though, a COY Award is a team honor. Our players work hard every day and always have energy and enthusiasm when they come to the rink. As well, George and the Staff deserve just as much credit for the diligent work they put in and the commitment to our team success. I can’t thank them enough or stress how important they are to our team success.”

The divisional teams and honors represent the four divisions in the NAHL: Central, East, Midwest and South Divisions, as voted upon and selected by the league’s 24 head coaches.  The awards are based on performance during the 2018-19 regular season.

The remainder of the NAHL 2018-19 season awards including the All-NAHL Teams, Most Valuable Player, Forward of the Year, Defenseman of the Year, Vaughn Goaltender of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, General Manager of the Year, Executive of the Year and Organization of the Year, along with the Academic Achievement Award, Leadership Award and Community Service Award, will be all be announced tomorrow Wednesday, May 1st.

The South Division Championship Series resumes tomorrow (Wednesday) night with Game 3 when the Amarillo Bulls visit the Shreveport Mudbugs at George’s Pond Hirsch Coliseum. The Best-Of-Five Affair is tied at one game apiece after the teams split games last Thursday and Friday. 

Tune into the action live on 107.1 Nash Icon, and on PPV with Hockey TV beginning with Prelude To The Playoffs Presented by Fit Omni at 6:40 pm. Denis J. Puska has the play by play call at 7:11 pm.