George Mika Adds Two More Awards

press-releaseAMARILLO, TX – Amarillo Bulls forward George Mika certainly had a complete year and was recognized for his hard work on the ice today as the North American Hockey League handed out its remaining awards.

Mika, who will attend Hockey East school UMASS-Amherst in the fall, picked up the NAHL Forward of the Year as well as was named to the First All NAHL team. On Tuesday, Mika was chosen to the All-South Division Team.

Mika, 20, made the most of his third and final season in the NAHL. The native of Naples, Florida, posted 69 points during the 2016-17 season, which included 30 goals and 39 assists, along with a +8 rating. His 30 goals was tied for 3rd best in the NAHL during the regular season and his 69 points is the most for a Bulls player since the 2011-12 season. Mika (5’11/181) was named the NAHL’s Forward of the Month in September and finished runner-up for the award in December. In early December, he committed to play NCAA Division I hockey at the University of Massachusetts.

Mika arrived in the Texas Panhandle at the end of the North American Hockey League’s trade deadline from the USHL during the 2014-15 season. In 134 career NAHL regular season games, Mika finished with 116 career points.

The selections are based on performance during the 2016-17 regular season, as voted upon by the league’s 24 head coaches.

Of the 10 All-NAHL Team members, four of them are from the South Division. Two members of the Shreveport Mudbugs and the President GM of the Corpus Christi IceRays were also recognized for major awards.

The 2016-17 season awards include: All-NAHL Team, Most Valuable Player, Forward of the Year, Defenseman of the Year, Vaughn Hockey Goaltender of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, General Manager of the Year, Executive of the Year and Organization of the Year, along with the Apex Learning Virtual School Academic Achievement Award, Leadership Award and Community Service Award.  Here is a look at the winners:

2016-17 All-NAHL 1st Team

Forward: Paul Cotter, Brookings Blizzard

Forward: Frankie Melton, Shreveport Mudbugs

Forward: George Mika, Amarillo Bulls

Defense: Croix Evingson, Shreveport Mudbugs

Defense: Brennan Kapcheck, Aston Rebels

Goaltender: Mareks Mitens, Aston Rebels

2016-17 All-NAHL 2nd Team

Forward: Matt Barry, Bismarck Bobcats

Forward: Caleb Schroer, Coulee Region Chill

Forward: Chase Thudium, Odessa Jackalopes

Defense: Andy Carroll, Aberdeen Wings

Defense: Gvido Jansons, Aston Rebels

Goaltender: Erik Gordon, Fairbanks Ice Dogs

  • 2016-17 Most Valuable Player and Vaughn Goaltender of the Year: Mareks Mitens, Aston Rebels
  • 2016-17 Forward of the Year: George Mika, Amarillo Bulls
  • 2016-17 Defenseman of the Year: Croix Evingson, Shreveport Mudbugs
  • 2016-17 Rookie of the Year: Paul Cotter, Brookings Blizzard
  • 2016-17 Coach of the Year: Joe Coombs, Aston Rebels
  • 2016-17 General Manager of the Year: Scott Muscutt, Shreveport Mudbugs
  • 2016-17 Executive of the Year: Pat Dunn, Corpus Christi IceRays
  • 2016-17 Organization of the Year: Shreveport Mudbugs
  • 2016-17 Apex Learning Virtual School Academic Achievement Award: Ryan Leibold, Springfield Jr. Blues
  • 2016-17 Leadership Award: Gage Mackie, Aberdeen Wings
  • 2016-17 Community Service Award: Ryan Wheeler, New Jersey Titans