Ferguson named finalist for Senior Class Award

Pittsburgh, Pa. – Robert Morris University men’s hockey senior Brady Ferguson was named one of ten finalists for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award, the award management announced Friday.

Ten NCAA® men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate hockey. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of candidates announced in the fall. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 26. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four®.

Ferguson leads the Colonials in scoring with 13 goals and 38 points on the season, ranking fifth in the NCAA and second in Atlantic Hockey, nine points shy of the NCAA scoring lead. The senior Amarillo Bulls (NAHL) alum from Carrollton, Texas is the NCAA’s leading active career scorer with 156 points, which is also tied for the mark of Sac Lynch ’16 for RMU’s all-time scoring lead.

Ferguson, a Hobey Baker Award nominee, is one of three Atlantic Hockey conference student-athletes named among the ten finalists, along with Air Force senior Dylan Abood and Canisius’ Ryan Schmelzer.

Men’s Hockey Finalists
Dylan Abood, Air Force
Michael Bitzer, Bemidji State
Jake Evans, Notre Dame
Brady Ferguson, Robert Morris
Karson Kuhlman, Minnesota Duluth
Mitch McLain, Bowling Green
Judd Peterson, St. Cloud State
Sam Piazza, Michigan
Austin Poganski, North Dakota
Ryan Schmelzer, Canisius

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Kansas City-based Premier Sports Management manages the award.