Bulls Win First Game at Robertson Cup

BLAINE, MN — The Amarillo Bulls are one win away from advancing to their second Robertson Cup National Final.

Three goals in the first 40 minutes and tremendous defense over the final period propelled the Bulls past the Aberdeen Wings 4-2 at Fogarty Ice Arena. The Bulls lead the best-of-three series 1-0, with the second game set for tomorrow (Saturday) night at 7:30 pm.

Jake Willets, Brett Abdelnour, David Ojamae and Logan Jenuwine tallied for the Bulls, while goaltender Jason Grande had an outstanding game between the pipes. The Bulls were outshot in the game for the first time in the post season, but found a way to push their way through and capture the first game. 

The Bulls capitalized on their scoring chances in the first period with a couple of markers. Jake Willets scored on a wraparound from Ryan Lautenbach at the 6:28 mark of the stanza. Brett Abdelnour gave Amarillo a 2-0 advantage in the final two minutes when he converted an pass from Logan Jenuwine. 

It was a good start to the second period for the Bulls as David Ojamae deflected home a pass from Brenden Datema and Jake Willets to make it 3-0. After that, it was all Aberdeen as the visitors fired a barrage of shots towards the net that were turned away from Jason Grande. The Wings finally got on the board with a pair of goals as Brad Belisle, and Jonathan Bendorf were able to score.

Rocky Russo’s charges were able to play a tight lock-down defense in the third period and prevented the visitors from getting on the board. Logan Jenuwine sealed the Bulls win when he scored on a great pass from Jason Brancheau and Brett Abelnour. 

The Amarillo Bulls outshot the Aberdeen Wings 30-18 including 7-3 ion the third period. 

There were no power play goals one the contest and the Wings penalty killing was stopped by the Bulls on four different occasions. 

Fans can tune into the action of the second game of the series on Saturday beginning with Prelude To The Robertson Cup Presented by Fit Omni at approximately 7 pm. Denis J. Puska has the hard hitting action at 7:30 pm.