Bulls Host Topeka In Game 1 Tonight at 7


AMARILLO, TX – The Amarillo Bulls and the Topeka RoadRunners played in one of the more memorable series in the North American Hockey League playoffs one year ago. Starting tonight (Friday) they will have a chance to do it again.

          The Bulls host the Topeka RoadRunners in the first game of the South Division final at 7 pm at the Budweiser Bull Pen in the Amarillo Civic Center. The second game will take place on Saturday also at 7 pm. The only change from this year to last year is that there is will be only one ticket to the Robertson Cup National Championship tournament on the line.

          Prior to both games, fans will be able to participle in tailgate parties beginning at 6 pm. The parties, that will take place in the parking lot behind the Amarillo Civic Center, feature free food and refreshments and music.   

          Last year’s series went the distance with the Bulls winning in five games and during the 2011-2012 regular season, the Bulls were able to post five wins in eight games. Brooks Behling had nine goals in eight games, while four other players had three goals or more. Goaltender Gregg Gruehl had four of the five wins. Forwards Ryan White and Ben Bahe each had seven points for Topeka in the series with while goaltender Peter Traber had three wins.

          In this year’s post season, the Bulls were able to defeat the Odessa Jackalopes in four games, winning game three in overtime and game four 4-1. The RoadRunners had a three-game series sweep over the Texas Tornado, notching the last victory in overtime.

          Tickets for the first two games of the series are available at the Bulls Office located at 301 South Polk, in the Amarillo Building, Civic Center Box Office and all Panhandle Ticket Outlets including United Supermarkets. For further information on Group Rates, 2012-2013 Season Tickets please call the Bulls Office at 806-242-1122.

          Fans can catch the entire series live on ESPN1440 and www.amarillobulls.com, beginning with Prelude To The Playoffs Presented By Wayland Baptist University at 6:45 pm. Denis J. Puska has all of the exciting action at 7 pm. The games are also available on Pay-Per-View courtesy of Fast Hockey and a high speed internet connection is required in order to view the games.

          The 2012 South Division Final Schedule:

  • Game 1 – Friday, Apr. 20 – 7 pm – Budweiser Bull Pen, Amarillo Civic Center.
  • Game 2 – Saturday, Apr. 21 – 7 pm – Budweiser Bull Pen, Amarillo Civic Center.
  • Game 3 – Thursday, Apr. 26 – 7 pm – Kansas Expo Center, Landon Arena.
  • Game 4 – If Necessary, Friday, Apr. 27 – 7 pm – Kansas Expo Center Landon Arena.
  • Game 5 – If Necessary, Monday, Apr. 30 – 7 pm – Budweiser Bull Pen in the Amarillo Civic Center.