Bulls blast Mustangs 8-2 For Third Win At Home

AMARILLO, TX – The Amarillo Bulls continued their red hot play on Friday night. The Bulls scored five first period goals and went on to beat the New Mexico Mustangs 8-2 at the Bull Pen in the Amarillo Civic Center. It was the Bulls second win in a row, and third in their last four games. It improved their record to 6-1-1.

Seven different players figured in the scoring and several netted their first goal of the season. After a wild opening 20 minutes that produced seven goals, the final 40 minutes had just three.

The game didn’t start well for Amarillo as they fell behind 1-0 before the first period was six minutes old. That goal seemed to ignite the Bulls offense and they struck quickly and often.  Derek Hills scored first from TJ Sarcona at 6:25. Michael Erickson gave the Bulls the lead for good with his first in the NAHL from Cody Freeman and Travis Hill. Matt Johnson got into the scoring when he netted an unassisted marker to make it 3-1. Stephen Obarzanek scored for the home side when he finished off a play from Sarcona. The Bulls were not done yet as Luke Jenkins scored from Matt Johnson at 16:49 and after the dust settled it was 5-1. The Mustangs rounded out the scoring with a goal in the final 2 minutes of the period.

The second period saw New Mexico fire 17 shots on goaltender Nikifor Szczerba but they couldn’t score. However Amarillo’s power play got rolling as Derek Hills notched his second of the game to make it 6-2 from Mitch Rogge and Cody Freeman at 9:33.

Two more goals were added by Amarillo in the final 20 minutes to finish the scoring. First Cody Freeman on a feed from Michael Erickson at 3:08, and then Travis Hill with his first from Freeman and Chris Cass.

Amarillo outshot New Mexico 43-30 including 14-12 in the final period. There were a total of seven power plays with the Bulls going 2 for 4.

The Amarillo Bulls and the New Mexico Mustangs will play one another again tomorrow (Saturday) night at 7 pm at the Amarillo Civic Center. The first 500 fans will receive a cowbell courtesy of Budweiser. Tickets are available at all Panhandle Ticket Outlets including United Supermarkets or on line at www.amarillobulls.com. For further information including group tickets and flex packs call the Bulls office at 806-242-1122. 

NAHL: South


NAHL                            1ST   2ND   3RD   TOTAL  
                                —   —   —   —–  
       New Mexico                2     0     0      2    
       Amarillo                  5     1     2      8    


NME – Kevin OConnor (Diego Breckenridge, Nick Brill) 5:57
AMA – Derek Hills (TJ Sarcona, Mitch Rogge) 6:25
AMA – Michael Erickson (Cody Freeman, Zack Smoot) 10:55
AMA – Matt Johnson  11:05
AMA – Steven Obarzanek (TJ Sarcona) 14:09
AMA – Dan Sherer (Matt Johnson, Dan McDougall) 16:49
NME – Jimmy Peplinski (Adam Chapie, James Poston) 18:40
AMA – (PP) Derek Hills (Mitch Rogge, Cody Freeman) 9:33
AMA – Cody Freeman (Michael Erickson, Zack Smoot) 3:08
AMA – (PP) Travis Hill (Cody Freeman, Derek Hills) 7:25


SHOTS ON GOAL:         1ST   2ND   3RD   TOTAL  
                       —   —   —   —–  
                 NME   11    17    12     40    
                 AMA   15    14    14     43    

GOALIES:   NME – Zack Cisek  
           NME – Matt Madore  
           AMA – Nikifor Szczerba  

OFFICIALS: REF – Kevin Curtis
           LIN – Dan Pecora, Joshua Greco

ATT:      717


New Mexico               2   0   0   —   2  
Amarillo                 5   1   2   —   8  

FIRST PERIOD — Scoring: NME – OConnor (Breckenridge, Brill)  5:57. AMA – Hills
(Sarcona, Rogge)  6:25. AMA – Erickson (Freeman, Smoot)  10:55. AMA – Johnson
11:05. AMA – Obarzanek (Sarcona)  14:09. AMA – Sherer (Johnson, McDougall)
16:49. NME – Peplinski (Chapie, Poston)  18:40.  Penalties: Sanford, NME
(Interference, Minor, 2 min) 0:52. 

SECOND PERIOD — Scoring: AMA – Hills (powerplay) (Rogge, Freeman)  9:33.
Penalties: Hill, AMA (Hooking, Minor, 2 min) 0:26.  Paul, NME (Cross Checking,
Minor, 2 min) 8:43.  Cass, AMA (Interference, Minor, 2 min) 18:43. 

THIRD PERIOD — Scoring: AMA – Freeman (Erickson, Smoot)  3:08. AMA – Hill
(powerplay) (Freeman, Hills)  7:25.  Penalties: Taylor, NME (Hooking, Minor, 2
min) 5:29.  Paul, NME (Tripping, Minor, 2 min) 5:53.  Erickson, AMA (Slashing,
Minor, 2 min) 15:50. 

Shots on goal:
New Mexico               11   17   12   —   40  
Amarillo                 15   14   14   —   43  

Power-play Conversions: New Mexico – 0 of 3,  Amarillo – 2 of 4

AWAY TEAM            MIN     S    SV  
Zack Cisek           20:00   15   10  
Matt Madore          40:00   28   25  
HOME TEAM            MIN     S    SV  
Nikifor Szczerba     59:37   40   38