Alumni Notebook-DIII Tourney

AMARILLO, TX – Amarillo Bulls Alumni will be represented at the NCAA Division III tournament that begins on Friday night. Trinity College featuring Ryan Cole, TJ Sherman and Sam Johnson, face Nichols in Hartford.

Seven conferences have been awarded an automatic bid, while the remaining four teams were selected as at-large teams. Teams that received an auto-bid by winning the conference playoff tournaments are Norwich (ECAC East), Nichols (ECAC Northeast), Plymouth State (MASCAC), Hamline (MIAC), Amherst (NESCAC), Adrian (NCHA) and Plattsburgh (SUNYAC).

Hobart, Oswego, Trinity and Wisconsin-Stevens Point enter the field as the four at-large selections. The championship playoff format involves three first-round games and four quarterfinal games that are played on the campuses of the participating schools. All games in the championship are single elimination. The four quarterfinal winners will advance to Ridder Arena in Minneapolis for the semifinal and championship games on March 27-28.

Meantime at Division I, several conference tournaments take place this weekend. Bentley, Robert Morris University, Niagara, Canisius College and Air Force all feature former Bulls players. Those teams take part in the Atlantic Hockey Tournament. In Hockey East Merrimack College opens up with action against Boston University while Providence takes on New Hampshire. Lake Superior State takes part in the WCHA Tourney facing the #2 ranked team in the nation in Minnesota State.